Prophets & Liars available now on Amazon!

Prophets & Liars Book CoverGood news for fans of Ben and Amy’s adventures through time — book two, Prophets and Liars is posted on Amazon, both the tradeback version and the Kindle version. As always, you can also contact me directly for a discounted copy of the physical book. Disclosure here: my copies do tend to have writing in them, inscribed to the person of your choice. :-)

Links to the right are active for both Servants & Thieves and Prophets & Liars, or email me at the address on the About the Author page.

Movies and Flip Sides

Here we are on the flip side of November. Good news, the rough sketch of the third book, Conquerors and Kings, is done. NaNoWriMo done and won. The bad news, it’s a mess. There are some good parts, and the story concludes satisfactorily (is that a Tristan word?), but it still needs work. But more good news, that’s what revisions are for…

As for the movies mentioned in the title, I’m happy to announce the final official book trailer for Servants and Thieves. I held off on announcing it until the November edition of the book was uploaded and ready to go. Book trailer, corrected and updated book, what more could you ask for?

More Craziness to Come

The word is out, and the books are ready. And what is our intrepid author doing now? Pulling his hair out and getting ready for November. What happens in November? NaNoWriMo, of course. Are you crazy? Yes.

Truth is, I wanted to finished book 3 this year, and now it seems this is only way I can do it. 50,000 words makes a nice start to the end of the series, and then I can focus on finished editing on book 2. Is there ever rest for this author? No.

Did I mention a new video is in the works to advertise the book? Probably not, but yes, there is. And another story in the works. Oh well.

More craziness to come…check back at a later date…

Sometimes Waiting is the Hardest Part

So, as of now, the Kindle version of Servants & Thieves is available for purchase at Amazon. The print version is also ready and on its way, but Amazon hasn’t posted that version yet nor linked it with the e-book. Once all that happens, I’ll be posting that we’re ready to sell books, the Lord willing.

That being said, it will likely be another week until the dust settles. Meanwhile, I have my marching orders for this month and next. I’ll be working on research, preparing a new promo video for the completed book, and starting November 1 I’ll be writing like crazy with NaNoWriMo. That should get me started on book three. After all that, it’s back to book two for the final thorough edit, and then massive proofreading before I can release that one. Think spring, probably.

But wouldn’t it be nice to just have it all done? I’m reminded of Paul, who said, “For to me, to live is Christ and to die is gain. If I am to go on living in the body, this will mean fruitful labor for me. Yet what shall I choose? I do not know! I am torn between the two: I desire to depart and be with Christ, which is better by far; but it is more necessary for you that I remain in the body.” (Phil. 1:21-24) I think that goes for anything we wish to be done with: it is better live in the moment we have.

Hopefully, next time, everything will be ready and the season of marketing can begin.

Yes, the inside of your book matters as much as the outside

I also could have titled this post: Who thinks about this stuff? The answer being, anyone who self-publishes.

Newest Book CoverWith the cover firmly in place (with a new font picked out as well), the next step in my book making process is to focus on the inside of the book, the interior formatting and font selection. After enduring the nightmare of Kindle-ready formatting (that will be another post), I was looking forward to working in InDesign to make Servants & Thieves a pleasure to read.

Aside from the obvious choices–what the chapter heads should look like, whether to use a drop cap or not, and what to do with section breaks–there are several typesetting considerations that I never considered until now. Here’s the short list of things I had to ferret out of the vast universe of the Internet to help make reading the book easier. (Kind of a punch-list of formatting.)

  • Convert any straight quotes to “curly” quotes
  • Ensure there’s only one space after a period
  • Make all dashes (- -) into “em dashes” (—) and space them with “thin spaces” (gotta have InDesign to do stuff like this)
  • Convert all ellipses to periods separated by (you guessed it) thin spaces
  • Decide on the hyphenation rules (how many letters in the word, how many before, after, etc.)
  • For each page, make sure there are at least two lines of text at the top
  • For each paragraph, make sure there are no single “floating” words at the end (if possible)
  • If a line is skipped at the bottom of one page (for spacing), the facing page must match as well
  • Ensure there are at least four lines of text on the last page of a chapter
  • Remove header from all chapter pages

I know there was more stuff as I went through the text, but this was newer material for me. I had studied how other books were put together, and a lot of this made sense, but it wasn’t until I had a checklist did I put it into practice.

Here’s a sample of chapter one, which shows the formatting for chapter heads as well as the first section break. Shows you almost everything but the page headers. Okay, here’s page two and three as well, to give you an idea of how that turned out.

Getting closer by the day to finishing out this process! The Lord willing, we’ll get it done.

Books by Derrick

Servants & Thieves

Wanderers in Time:
Book One

Servants & Thieves Available from Amazon in Paperback and Kindle versions.
 

Prophets & Liars

Wanderers in Time:
Book Two

Prophets & Liars Available from Amazon in Paperback and Kindle versions.
 

Conquerors & Kings

Wanderers in Time:
Book Three

Conquerors & Kings Available from Amazon in Paperback and Kindle versions.
 

 

NaNoWriMo Results

Two years now, Derrick has participated in National Novel Writing Month, and completed the 50,000 words necessary to be a winner.

2009 Nano Winner   2011 Nano Winner